Sign in to follow this  
turbocooler

Question from discussion on Miniature Monday's Feed -- Painting Environment

From the last few episodes of Miniature Monday Twitch Feed there has been discussion about a proper painting environment.   This was in regards not just to lighting and a workspace but also temperature and humidity.  While there was a general discussion over the last few episodes and many people asking in the comments, it does not seem that any answer was really given.

Temperature and humidity affect paint flow and drying time, what is the optimal temperature and humidity for a painting space.  Doing some internet searches I found the general consensus of "The ideal humidity level for painting is between 40% and 50%" but this is for painting your home.  Is there an optimal range for miniature paints?

I have been painting models and minis for roughly 50 years and the only time I have seen problems in drying were when doing outside priming when the temps and/or humidity were WAY outside of what normal "comfort" levels would be. You can get good results even in colder temps by keeping the paint and mini indoors, going out, spraying quickly and bringing back indoors immediately to dry.

Are you in a comfortable environment?  Then the temp/humidity are fine.

I've painted in 65F and 100F.  I've painted in the low humidity of Colorado and the supersaturated atmosphere of Dallas.  It doesn't matter.

I've primed models when it was winter outside, and I've primed models when it was raining outside.  As long as the sky-water doesn't get on the model, it didn't matter.

• Like 3

The ideal humidity depends on what you’re doing.  For example, if you use layering, a lower humidity is nice because the paint will dry faster.  However, if you’re using two brush blending, you want a higher humidity so you have more time to work with the paint before it dries.