Sign in to follow this  
mwhowell2001

Question about paints

I'm trying to work on expanding my paint collection and I heard that some of the Reaper paints have an adhesive or something worked in to make them bond to plastic better.  Is that accurate?  It sounded like gossip to me but I wanted to confirm it because heaven knows I'm a painting newbie.

• Like 1

Mainly it's that Bones plastic is also a special formula that's intended to be able to take paint without primer.  Reaper paints have a small amount of flow improver included in their formulation which helps to overcome the natural hydrophobic tendencies of the plastic (as long as you don't dilute them with water before trying to lay down a base coat.) This makes primer optional, (though there is some debate on that point.)  Reaper's Liner paints are particularly effective as a replacement for primer on bones plastic.  Once that base layer is down you can paint normally.

This doesn't mean the paints will necessarily stick better to Polystyrene(PS) , which is what is typically used to produce miniatures and scale models. (particularly the ones that come on rigid sprues) You still need primer for those.  Incidentially Reaper does offer a couple of brush on primer options.  

You'll find most of us here are big fans of Reaper's paint.  Myself, in all my years painting, have used 3 different generations of Citadel, P3, Army Painter, Scale75, Vallejo, Tamiya, Testors Enamels and Acrylics, and numerous different craft and ceramic paints over the year.  At present, Reaper MSP makes up the majority of my use with some support from army painter and citadel.

• Like 4
  • Thanks 1

That's kind of interesting about the flow improver already being mixed in.  I was not aware.  

I remembered seeing something called Wash Medium on the store a while back.  What's that used for?