Sign in to follow this  
Scribblette

Toxicity of paints and pet birds

Hullo. Sorry if my questions are stupid and my google fu has just failed me. I'm a complete beginner here, never done anything like this before, but going hard into bones 5 for table top play with family. I was looking into the paints and learning to paint kit that comes with it only. 

So, question: Does anyone have ideas on the safety of these paints and plastics around small pet birds? Are the paints "sweet tasting at all? Maybe by extrapolating the info from the idea of safety vs if you've had a baby chew on your painted dragon wing? 

The birds are not chewers, more brush tongued and soft billed honey eater type birds, and they're usually free flying around house. Danger is more of them licking something colourful if it's left out. They haven't done this with larger Assassin Creed statues but no harm in wondering? 

The obvious answers to me are:

- Don't paint around flying pets! 

- Don't leave freshly painted miniatures or fresh paints anywhere near pets might go, duh! 

- Don't leave dried miniatures anywhere they might go either! Water soluble paints could mean saliva soluble, and then you've got sick birds and messed up paints!

The third one I'm hoping maybe isn't the case. It would be nice to be able to leave dried statues on a map half way through a game. Also with family and a billion miniatures I'm not so sure that everything will get put away, and so knowing what degree of paranoid I don't have to be would be super helpful.

Edited by Scribblette
  • Like 2

@Reaper_Jon can get you more information.  The paints are supposed to be 'non toxic' in the sense that normal use won't make you sick. That does not include painting on your skin or eating them.  It's acrylic paint and the hazards for your pets will be similar to other craft paints. 

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1