Sign in to follow this  
Choppertown

Githyanki (vintage Dark Horse early 80s)

Gave a shot at this funky Dark Horse githyanki yesterday. I only had a few Dark Horse pieces circa 1983, not the sharpest sculpts, but always interesting and I loved their newsletter and indie vibe. I pulled out my old Fiend Folio for inspiration.

image2(1).jpeg

image1(1).jpeg

image0(1).jpeg

• Like 19

Feeling a sudden urge to boot up Planescape: Torment for a bit...

Definitely hits the FF color scheme nicely.

• Like 1

9 hours ago, Mad Jack said:

Feeling a sudden urge to boot up Planescape: Torment for a bit...

Definitely hits the FF color scheme nicely.

Thanks!  As a beginner I found it very difficult to layer on such a small sculpt. It feels like the minis nowadays are a larger scale?  So many of my 80s guys are these tiny little things.

Yup - the old Ral Partha and Grenadier minis are "True 25mm" scale, generally 25mm to the eyes or top of the head (it varies from company to company),while Reaper's figures are what's known as 28mm "Heroic" scale... Aside from being just a bit larger overall, they're intentionally sculpted with slightly larger hands, weapons and heads to emphasize the detail and make them more visible when playing with them or displaying them.

A lot of companies that produce their figures strictly for their tabletop skirmish games actually use 32mm as their standard.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

The sculpt is definitely not the greatest, but looking at the cover I can see where they got the inspiration from. 

You did reproduce the colour scheme well.

With the next miniature I would focus on delineating areas more. This can be achieved via a controlled wash or with a dark shadow tone, that you apply to borders between areas /surfaces.

I think thinning down your paint a tad would also yield better results and make layering easier. 

I also use a wet palette. If you do not, give it a try. Really changed the way I painted.