Sign in to follow this  
AdorablyOther

New to painting, need advice on sealing

Hello! I started painting my gloomhaven miniatures a little more than a year ago. I did a bunch of research, bought a starter kit from reaper, washed, primed, and sealed them. I wasn't sure if I was going to stick with it, so I didn't invest a ton into the hobby. I was pretty conservative with the sealant (testors dullcote), and only did one layer.

The hobby had stuck and I would like to go back and reseal the ones I did at the very beginning, for extra protection. They have been played with, so I'm not sure how to go about it.

Should I wash them again? Would that ruin the paint? How many layers do people suggest? I've read about using a layer of gloss then the matte

Any suggestions or help would be very appreciated. Thank you!

• Like 4

Welcome to the Forum.

I use Army Painter's Antishine Spray Varnish or Reaper Brush on Sealer.

But I only paint for display so handling is at a minimum.

• Like 2

Hello and welcome!

I've never been in your situation before, always sealed my gaming miniatures from the start. But if I were in your shoes, this is what I would do:

• Don't scrub them with anything. Too much pressure might scrape your paint off.
  • Take a normal clean paintbrush, dip it into some clean water (no soap*), and gently go over the minis. Hopefully that should remove any finger grease.
  • Let them dry fully before sealing them.

*Reason I would avoid using soapy water to wash them is because you'll have to really rinse them off well, as any soap residue will create the same problem with the sealer that you are trying to avoid with the finger grease. Plus, if you used any basing material with PVA glue, the rinsing might loosen that glue and ruin the basing.