Sign in to follow this  
Snowpaint

Need help with my pre-painting prep work

Hi all, I just got the Fungal Bruiser and the Marsh Troll and am having a hard time getting the arms to fit snug to the body of the mini. I'm nervous to start trying to shave down the tab to try and get it to fit better. I'm still a novice at this and haven't had to fit pieces together yet. Follow up question, do you usually paint the pieces before glueing them in place? Maybe first coat before putting it all together and finish work once assembled?

Thanks!

• Like 2

When you say the parts are not fitting snug, are you saying they don't want to go all the way in, or they have loose fit?  If the fit is too tight, there is not issue shaving things down to make a better fit.  If they are loose, as long as there are some surfaces touching, the glue will hold.

In some cases there will be gaps, which is not unusual.  Gaps can be filled with an epoxy putty such as Green Stuff (Blue/Yellow kneadatite) or Aves Apoxie Sculpt and blended in.

Whether you assemble before painting or after is entirely a judgement call based on what areas of the model may be obstructed by the attached parts.  If you are able to get a brush into a space after assemble, the it will certainly help in the long run by painting assembled.  

• Like 5

1 hour ago, Clearman said:

When you say the parts are not fitting snug, are you saying they don't want to go all the way in, or they have loose fit?  If the fit is too tight, there is not issue shaving things down to make a better fit.  If they are loose, as long as there are some surfaces touching, the glue will hold.

Thanks Clearman. The arm seems to not want to go in all the way. I can tell that getting them to fit is a matter of getting it aligned just right, and I don't want to start messing with the overall shape of the tab to get it to fit better. But I see what you mean, if it ends up a bit loose, the glue should hold it in place.