Jump to content

Starfinder: Attack of the Swarm pbp


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 241
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Sorry, sometimes sarcasim doesn't come through text.  No, it's really 16.  It was, in fact, a typo.  LOL

 

@ferret  I'm really not sure where this hostility is coming from, but it is making playing this character a little fatiguing.  If you had bothered to read my OOC notes on the Intimidation check, you would see the action was taken to *bolster* my allies, yet you choose to post before @haldir adjudicates the success or failure of that action and take it in the worst possible light, while entirely ignoring the fact that had it been an attempt to cow you it would have been entirely successful unless your Intimidation bonus is +12, or your CR is higher than 5.

Edited by Zero Prime
Link to post
Share on other sites

Looking at the intimidation skill, It doesn't have any PC to PC benefits,  but I do see the +4 to a specific check using the Demand action, but I see what your trying to do. I'm not exactly sure what the check's DC is for that?

 

Wouldn't that be more of a Aid Other action? As you are trying to help anther player, vs bullying them, or making them afraid.

 

 

If the check is successful, I'll allow whatever benefits it may give before the Dredgers attack. As they attack after Doc comes over & places his hand on you. (thus #1 & #4 are close to both Vith & Doc)

Link to post
Share on other sites

It may not have any mechanical effect, Aid Another can't allow you to re-roll a failed save or anything.  I'm not trying to re-write the rules, just trying to snap folks out of their fear.  Aid Another is a +2 bonus, so maybe it adds a +2 to Gustav's Initiative check this round (effectively cancelling out the Shaken penalty for 1 round?)

Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a couple of questions regarding application of the concealment rules to an attached dredger

 

1. The rules say an adjacent target of a melee attack has concealment if its space is entirely within the concealing effect.  So am I correct in thinking the attached dredger has the advantage of concealment in spite of being attached to the attacker?

 

2.  The rules also say certain situations provide more or less of a miss chance than typical concealment as determined by the GM.  I assume I should roll the d% as normal and the GM will apply the result the result to whatever miss chance he determines is appropriate without revealing whether there is an adjustment because the target is attached. Correct?

Edited by ferret
Link to post
Share on other sites
17 minutes ago, Zero Prime said:

@ferret  Still waiting for a response to my question, it works certainly help alleviate my frustrations and make the game more enjoyable for me.

Sorry, what was your question? BTW  I have given Gustav an "attitude adjustment" as I had previously offered to do and have ceased making any comments in the OOC relating to Vith.  Hopefully, that alleviates your concerns with perceived "hostility" and make the game more enjoyable for you.

Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, ferret said:

I have a couple of questions regarding application of the concealment rules to an attached dredger

 

1. The rules say an adjacent target of a melee attack has concealment if its space is entirely within the concealing effect.  So am I correct in thinking the attached dredger has the advantage of concealment in spite of being attached to the attacker?

 

2.  The rules also say certain situations provide more or less of a miss chance than typical concealment as determined by the GM.  I assume I should roll the d% as normal and the GM will apply the result the result to whatever miss chance he determines is appropriate without revealing whether there is an adjustment because the target is attached. Correct?

I believe per the original post that the dreger only get concealment from the duat if they are greater than 5ft away.  So assumimg that the attached dredger is within 5ft, then comcealment does not apply.

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, Dilvish the Deliverer said:

I believe per the original post that the dreger only get concealment from the duat if they are greater than 5ft away.  So assumimg that the attached dredger is within 5ft, then comcealment does not apply.

Thanks!  I missed or forgot that was in the original post.

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/28/2021 at 8:44 AM, ferret said:

Sorry, what was your question? BTW  I have given Gustav an "attitude adjustment" as I had previously offered to do and have ceased making any comments in the OOC relating to Vith.  Hopefully, that alleviates your concerns with perceived "hostility" and make the game more enjoyable for you.

 

@ferret  I didn't notice the edit of the post as we had flipped to the following page, so I hadn't gone back.  I am not trying to eliminate your RP of Gustav, it just felt like the character took personal exception to every suggestion or action taken by Vith, even ones meant in the squad's best interest.  So thank you for the attitude adjustment, let's see if we can't prevent Gustav from being draged off into some dark swarm infested warren.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Apologies for the delay in getting the combat started. I decided to kinda take it easy today after coming home this morning from work.

 

I'm sore & have a very mild fever due to my 2nd shot yesterday (soreness is from last night's load....). Overall, I just haven't felt like doing anything worthwhile today. I did take a good nap, but with the temps outside in the 80s today, I woke up warm (upstairs gets hot when it gets hotter outside).

 

Since I'm not running my Saturday game tomorrow, I'll definitely have the start up tomorrow!!

  • Like 3
Link to post
Share on other sites

Note, there are GM questions so far in the 2 attacks per round so far.

 

Again, I'm wanting to learn how to GM that game better.

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

So under Combat Actions, excluding Trcik Attacks, which are a little complex, you have two options.  One, a Standard Action, one attack at full Attack Bonus, Two, a Full Attack, as a Full Round action, you can make TWO attacks each at a -4 Penalty to hit.  That's where Vith's second attack came from, rather than standing up (which provokes an AoO), or crawling away (Move action which would provoke), I opted to full attack, getting two attacks at a -4.

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites

Hmmm odd my reply post disappeared....

 

Anyways, just wanted to say thanks for the help. I probably read that but it didn't fall into the memory banks yet.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...