This is my first attempt at a dark skin tone but I wasn't feeling the Dark Skin Triad for this one.

So far I like where I am headed with Innkeeper Sophie, but I wonder if I'm missing something.

For her skin I used Redstone Shadow and highlighted up with Redstone Highlight(also did a light glaze of brown liner on the back of the wings for shadows) but I'm wondering if I need a third highlight color. Should I mix in Pure White or possibly a warm shaded off-white like Linen White to the highlight color? Should I lean more red or more yellow considering her dress is the prominent color? Is that even a good idea?

Also the shadow line on her bust is bothering me... seems like it might be too long and sharp of a line there... should I have a smoother transition between her collar bone and her breasts?

Innkeeper Sophie front.jpg

Innkeeper Sophie back.jpg

Edited by crowsandbones
  • Like 5
  • Replies 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

2 hours ago, crowsandbones said:

For her skin I used Redstone Shadow and highlighted up with Redstone Highlight(also did a light glaze of brown liner on the back of the wings for shadows) but I'm wondering if I need a third highlight color. Should I mix in Pure White or possibly a warm shaded off-white like Linen White to the highlight color? Should I lean more red or more yellow considering her dress is the prominent color? Is that even a good idea?

I would try a lighter skin tone like Tanned Shadow or Tanned Skin, maybe mix a bit with your redstone highlight to smooth the transition.   If you mix white into the redstone it will be too much. 

I would not add any red. You already have purple hair and a green scarf.  Try using those in more places for color, or shading. 

• Like 5
  • Thanks 1

Good work so far.