Sculpting a dragon/bat wing of sorts, looking for advice

I think I'm going to take the plunge and try my hand at sculpting.  I've never done this before, but by way of background, I've gotten inspired by Mantic Armada Twilight Kin (evil elves) because the ship bodies are these cool nightmarish living looking things, but the sails are...  dull as dishwater.  Seriously, they look like normal sails.  This doesn't float my boat, so to speak.  I think they'd look much cooler with dramatic membranous wings sprouting from their hulls (The Dragon Lords from the old, long out of print Uncharted Seas looked a little like this, but those ships looked too neat).

Thankfully, I just got my Reaper V delivered recently, and I have a few Dragon wings to use as inspiration, but what I'm thinking of would be a bit more upright than these beasts' wings.  To help you imagine, hold your first three fingers up.  Now imagine a web between fingers 1 and 2, and 2 and 3.  Now imagine it all bony, scary, and icky looking.  Now you're talkin'!

So if you have a moment, could you offer some constructive criticisms / wake up call for my first attempt at sculpting?  I've got the basic sculpting tools, and have watched a few "working with Green Stuff" type videos. 

Here's what I'm thinking: 

Start with a metal armature.  Essentially one (large paperclip maybe?) thin rod I would shape into a finger structure (bent a little at each "knuckle") to make up the pointer finger.  The sail will be about 2.5-3" tall, so I'd make sure there's plenty of room at the bottom to stick it into a cork for sculpting, and (trim it a little first) eventually into the recipient ship hull. I would use two more paper clips to make the "ring finger" and the "middle finger" of the sail.  I'd probably have <1" space between the fingers, TBD once I see the models.