Sophie's Revenge, or, how to get stuck in a very very long project...

Posted (edited)

I track the number of minis I paint, and have been doing this since about 2015 (I restarted painting minis around 2004, after decades off since tackling the old Grenadier models of the 80s with testors enamel and the ridiculous brushes on offer at the time).  I’m a fast painter (not necessarily a good painter!), and I’m rapidly approaching my 5,000th model since I’ve been logging my projects.

And what better model to be my 5,000th model painted than this beast?  Sophie will have her revenge!

Let’s get started, then.  I was inspired by a few youtube videos (this one, in particular https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TFArYs2NFmk ) to try magnetizing my ship, so that I could keep using the box it came in, which is quite nice.  Some have reported bad warping with their ships - mine wasn’t too bad at all, but I figured with magnets would look even better as they’d help close any close gaps.  Plus it just seemed like a cool project? 

This was the worst of the warping my ship had.  I can live with a gap like this on a model this size.  You could add a big magnet here, and that might help close this some.  Or add a magnet, then heat up the plastic so as it cools, the magnet helps keep it closed.  

IMG-7107.thumb.jpg.59e6ec32d792e01644e6ac7d925899f1.jpg

Here’s a list of the magnets I used to pull this off.  All magnet id numbers are from K&J Magnetics, in case you want to try something like this yourself.  The N52 is their strongest rare earth magnet and it seems to be working well for me.  I’d recommend getting a few extras, for ones you gum up with glue or lose or your kid demands and takes as a new plaything: